The Asia-Pacific Protein Association Young Scientist Award

Poster of APPA Young Scientist Award

The Asia-Pacific Protein Association Young Scientist Award is awarded to a young scientist working in the field of protein science in the Asia-Pacific region. The award aims to recognise the outstanding contributions made by the young scientist to the field of protein research.


  • Applicants should be within 5 years since receipt of the PhD in the year of the award (for example, for the 2020 meeting, the PhD should have been awarded on or after January 1, 2015) or the applicant should currently be enrolled in a PhD at an institution in an APPA country.
  • Applicants are to submit a two-page CV summary as a PDF file (any material beyond the second page will not be assessed). The CV is to include publications and/or patents, grants or fellowships awarded, conference participation, contributions to the scientific community and any other criteria that showcases the applicant’s track record.
  • In addition to the two-page CV summary, a 250-word abstract and a letter of recommendation should also be submitted.
  • It is generally expected that successful applicants will have outstanding track records with a well-developed scientific story to present.
  • Applications are to be submitted to the relevant APPA council member of the applicant’s country. Please refer to the list below for the relevant contact details.
  • All applications will be judged relative to opportunity. The decision of the judging panel is final.
  • The closing date for 2020 applications is: FEBRUARY 20, 2020.


In 2020, two Awards will be offered. The recipients of these Awards will receive:

  • USD$1000 towards travel costs and associated expenses to attend the 2020 World Conference on Protein Science in Sapporo, Japan on July 6 to 10, 2020. Co-organised by the US Protein Society, the Protein Science Society of Japan and the Asia-Pacific Protein Association.
  • Complimentary registration to the APPA conference in the year of the Award.
  • Named oral presentation slot at the APPA conference in the year of the Award.
  • Plaque in recognition of the Award.


Where there is more than one council member for your country, please ensure you email your application to all council members representing your country.

  • Australia – Erinna Lee ( and Richard Simpson (
  • Bangladesh – Md. Abu Reza ( and Syed Rashel Kabir (
  • China – Feng Shao (, Ming Lei ( and Xinquan Wang (
  • Chinese Taipei – Ping-Chiang Lyu ( and Chwan-Deng (David) Hsiao (
  • Hong Kong – Mingjie Zhang (
  • India – Mohan Rao ( and Dinakar Salunke (
  • Indonesia – Arief Witarto ( and Bambang Sugiharto (
  • Japan – Hiroki Shirai ( and Tsuyoshi Inoue (
  • Korea – Weontae Lee ( and Yeon Gyu Yu (
  • Malaysia – Raja Noor Zaliha Raja Abd. Rahman ( and Mohd Shukuri Mohamad Ali (
  • New Zealand – Kurt Krause ( and Renwick Dobson (
  • Pakistan – Nikhat Siddiqui ( and Syed Abid Ali (
  • Philippines – Lemmuel Tayo ( and Salvador Eugenio Caoili (
  • Singapore – Jianxing Song ( and Ho Sup (Joe) Yoon (
  • Thailand – Pimchai Chaiyen ( and Monique Paricharttanakul (
  • Vietnam – Phan Van Chi ( and Truong Quoc Phong (

For general enquiries about the award, please email Erinna Lee (